Sign In Forgot Password

Kashrut Policy

KASHRUT POLICY

Darchei Noam’s Kashrut policy reflects our commitment to Jewish tradition as we strive to create an inclusive community where everyone is encouraged to participate and feels welcome to contribute their gifts. Practically speaking this kashrut policy will enable us to host potluck Shabbat dinners in the building, invite congregants to share their home baked goods, as well as diversify the snacks that can be brought in and sold for shul school. On the deepest level, this kashrut policy cultivates a culture grounded in learning, compassion, trust, and fellowship.
 
Basic Tenants of Policy
At Darchei Noam we have determined that any item whose ingredients are wholly dairy, vegetarian, or pareve* conforms to our community standards and is considered kosher, even if it lacks formal kosher supervision. Please respect our community kashrut standards by bringing only dairy, pareve, or vegetarian foods into our building or while attending communal Darchei Noam gatherings. 

Dairy/Vegetarian/Pareve Guidelines
Our kashrut policy is an ingredient-based approach. Hechshers (kashrut symbols) are not required, however no meat fat or meat products may be used in any goods brought into the synagogue. Common ingredients that must be avoided are as follows: 

  • Chicken or beef stock
  • Lard or other animal shortening 
     

To clarify—all marshmallows, gelatin, and candy products are permitted. Please check package ingredient lists or consult with our clergy if you have any questions.
 
Meat Guidelines – (Off Site Only)
At this time, we cannot support meat meals in our building; however, if there is a communal gathering offsite, a meat meal will be permitted in consultation with our clergy and adhering to the following guidelines: 

  • Certified kosher meat or certified kosher caterer 
  • No dairy as part of the meal
  • Use of plates, utensils, and reheating methods will be decided on a case-by-case basis in consultation with our clergy 


*Pareve: a classification of kashrut that is neither meat nor dairy and is therefore permitted to be eaten with both. Fish and eggs are both considered pareve; however, only fish with fins and scales are considered kosher. Shellfish is not permitted.

Wine/Grape Juice Guidelines
At Darchei Noam wine or grape juice used for the purpose of making kiddush requires a hecksher (kosher certification); however, wine used for non-ritual purposes does not require kosher certification. 

Passover Guidelines 
Darchei Noam’s kitchen will be closed during Pesach, and any food served during Pesach requires a Passover certification. All serving items should be disposable. 
Any food that is brought in from the outside during Pesach needs to be pre-approved by our clergy. 

If you have any questions about this policy please consult with Rabbi Danielle Parameter or Hazzan Arlyne Unger. 

Fri, December 3 2021 29 Kislev 5782